[tArD]
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mesmer In GvG

4 posters

Go down

Mesmer In GvG Empty Mesmer In GvG

Post by Tearz Wed 27 Feb - 22:28

Focusing on Domination since that's the most popular atm and we use it in our main build right now Very Happy KEEP IN MIND I AM NOT AN EXPERT BUT WANTED TO SHARE WHAT IS EXPECTED OF A MESMER.

Diversion. Power Leak. Shatter Enchantment. Power Drain. What do these skills have in common? They all kick ass. As a mesmer, you are expected to divert Blinding Surge, Shatter Enchant on spikes, interrupt Aegis, divert WoH, divert RC, divert Spirit bond, create pressure on the monks, and with some builds keep Ward Against Melee up. Doesn't sound easy? That's because it isn't. Most people don't even realize how difficult mesmer is until you play it. To make things worse, you are a key target for interrupts from both the mesmer and the ranger. So how do you do it right? Well, to make things easier to take in, I'll split it up into three sections: Shutdown, Spiking, and Pressure.

Shutdown
As a mesmer, you are expected to be able to safely interrupt 1 second cast times with power leak. Perfect scenario: a monk is using Guardian, you interrupt the monk with power leak, he's just lost 24 energy since power leak takes 19 and the initial 5 from Guardian. Unlike Eles, monks have ~45-47 in their 40/40 sets and around 67 in their high sets, so -24 is not anything to laugh about. Speaking of eles, interrupting Ward Against Melee is incredibly important, as well as Air Attunement even though it doesn't seem like it will do very much. Ele energy go boom Very Happy